African Arts & CultureAfrican HistoryAfricanewsAway To AfricaEgyptNorth AfricaReligion & SpiritualityWorld

The 42 Laws of Maat in Kemet’ (The Original 10 Commandments of the Bible)


Kemet is the name given to the country currently known as Egypt today. The surviving artifacts of the Kemet kings and copyists prove that Kemet law and order was “Maat” also known as the 42 Laws of Maat.

The Goddess Maat as the Cosmological Origin of Kemet Rule of Law

Maat or Maʽat refers to the antiquated Egyptian ideas of truth, balance, order, harmony, regulation, ethical quality/morality, and justice.

The basic law of the universe. The Egyptians accepted strongly that each individual was answerable for their own life and that life ought to be lived in light of others and the earth in mind.

Similarly as the divine beings cared on mankind, so should people care for one another and the earth which they had been given.

This way of thinking is apparent in each part of Egyptian culture from the manner in which they built their urban areas to the balance including their temples and monuments.

If one lived agreeably in the desire of the divine beings, one was living as one with the idea of ma’at and the goddess who typified that idea.

One was allowed and free to live however one wanted and completely ignore the principle of ma’at, but eventually one would face the trial which awaited everyone: judgment in the Hall of Truth (also known as The Hall of Two Truths) in the afterlife.

ALSO READ: What Was The Oldest Religion in the World

What Was The Oldest Religion in the World

Petitioner Announces the 42 Divine Principles of the Maat

Recorded beneath from Budge’s public area interpretation of the 42 Divine Principles of Maat:


    1. I have not committed sin.
    2. I have not committed robbery with violence.
    3. I have not stolen.
    4. I have not slain men or women.
    5. I have not stolen food.
    6. I have not swindled offerings.
    7. I have not stolen from God/Goddess.
    8. I have not told lies.
    9. I have not carried away food.
    10. I have not cursed.
    11. I have not closed my ears to truth.
    12. I have not committed adultery.
    13. I have not made anyone cry.
    14. I have not felt sorrow without reason.
    15. I have not assaulted anyone.
    16. I am not deceitful.
    17. I have not stolen anyone’s land.
    18. I have not been an eavesdropper.
    19. I have not falsely accused anyone.
    20. I have not been angry without reason.
    21. I have not seduced anyone’s wife.
    22. I have not polluted myself.
    23. I have not terrorized anyone.
    24. I have not disobeyed the Law.
    25. I have not been exclusively angry.
    26. I have not cursed God/Goddess.
    27. I have not behaved with violence.
    28. I have not caused disruption of peace.
    29. I have not acted hastily or without thought.
    30. I have not overstepped my boundaries of concern.
    31. I have not exaggerated my words when speaking.
    32. I have not worked evil.
    33. I have not used evil thoughts, words or deeds.
    34. I have not polluted the water.
    35. I have not spoken angrily or arrogantly.
    36. I have not cursed anyone in thought, word or deeds.
    37. I have not placed myself on a pedestal.
    38. I have not stolen what belongs to God/Goddess.
    39. I have not stolen from or disrespected the deceased.
    40. I have not taken food from a child.
    41. I have not acted with insolence.
    42. I have not destroyed property belonging to God/Goddess.

ALSO READ: The Ethiopian Bible is the Original Bible and the Best Bible Version

The Ethiopian Bible is the Original Bible and the Best Bible Version

After the solicitor’s declaration containing the 42 certifiable statements, if the applicant is considered by the Goddess Maat to be in significant consistence with the 42 Laws of Maat the candidate passes from duat to the Field of Reeds (Arus) where Osiris sits as the last guardian.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button