AlgeriaAway To AfricaCameroonCentral AfricaEast AfricaEgyptGhanaIvory CoastMaliMoroccoNigeriaNorth AfricaSenegalSouth AfricaSouthern AfricaSportsTunisiaWest Africa

Winners of the Africa Cup of Nations from 1957 to 2021 – Egypt and Cameroon Emerge as Top Winners


The Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), the premier international men’s football tournament in Africa, has seen Egypt and Cameroon emerge as dominant forces over the years.

Egypt, the inaugural champions, has won the title seven times, while Cameroon has clinched it five times. Senegal, the current champions, achieved their first victory in the 2021 edition (held in 2022) by defeating Egypt in the final.

Initiated in 1957 with just three teams, AFCON has expanded significantly, featuring 24 teams in the main draw and 52 in the qualifiers.

The tournament is organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) and has been held 33 times, with 14 different countries having won the championship.

Egypt marked their dominance early, winning the first AFCON in 1957 by defeating Ethiopia. The tournament initially had irregular intervals but became a biennial event from 1968.

ALSO READ: AFCON Iconic Moments: Legends and Top Scorers of the CAF Africa Cup of Nations

AFCON Iconic Moments: Legends and Top Scorers of the CAF Africa Cup of Nations

The number of participating teams increased over time, from eight in 1968 to twelve in 1992 and sixteen in 1996. The latest editions in 2019 and 2021 saw 24 teams compete.

The scheduling of AFCON was adjusted in 2013 to avoid conflicting with the FIFA World Cup, moving to odd-numbered years.

The tournament has showcased world-class talents like Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Sadio Mane (Senegal), and Mohamed Salah (Egypt), with Cameroon’s Samuel Eto’o holding the record for the most goals in AFCON history.

Egypt’s success in the tournament includes a remarkable hat-trick of wins from 2006 to 2010, while Cameroon has also had notable achievements with five titles and several podium finishes.

Senegal’s recent victory in 2021 marked a significant milestone as their first win in the history of the competition.

Also Read: Africa Cup of Nations’ Afcon 2023: Team Lineups for the Tournament in Ivory Coast

Africa Cup of Nations’ Afcon 2023: Team Lineups for the Tournament in Ivory Coast

African Cup of Nations winners list from 1957 – 2021

AFCON winners and finalists
Year Winners Runners-up
1957 Egypt Ethiopia
1959 Egypt Sudan
1962 Ethiopia Egypt
1963 Ghana Sudan
1965 Ghana Tunisia
1968 DR Congo Ghana
1970 Sudan Ghana
1972 Congo Mali
1974 DR Congo Zambia
1976 Morocco Guinea
1978 Ghana Uganda
1980 Nigeria Algeria
1982 Ghana Libya
1984 Cameroon Nigeria
1986 Egypt Cameroon
1988 Cameroon Nigeria
1990 Algeria Nigeria
1992 Ivory Coast Ghana
1994 Nigeria Zambia
1996 South Africa Tunisia
1998 Egypt South Africa
2000 Cameroon Nigeria
2002 Cameroon Senegal
2004 Tunisia Morocco
2006 Egypt Ivory Coast
2008 Egypt Cameroon
2010 Egypt Ghana
2012 Zambia Ivory Coast
2013 Nigeria Burkina Faso
2015 Ivory Coast Ghana
2017 Cameroon Egypt
2019 Algeria Senegal
2021 Senegal Egypt


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button