Business AfricaCentral AfricaEast AfricaNorth AfricaSouthern AfricaWest AfricaWorld

The African Union Officially Becomes a Member of G20


The announcement was made by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the opening of a leaders’ meeting in New Delhi on Saturday, which gathered together the wealthiest countries in the world.

The African Union has now officially joined the Group of 20 (G20) as a permanent member.

In his opening comments, Modi said, “Today, as the President of the G20, India calls upon the world to come together to transform the global trust deficit into one of trust and reliance.”

“Now is the moment for us to all go forward together… Whether it is the gap between North and South, the separation between East and West, the control of food and fuel, terrorism, cyber security, energy security, or water security.

For the sake of next generations, we must find a reliable solution to this.

“I invite the African Union representative to take his place as a permanent member of the G20,” Modi said.

The African Union as a Permanent Member of G20

The African Union, which has 55 members and covers the whole continent of Africa, is currently chaired by President Azali Assoumani of the Comoros.

The membership places the African bloc at the head of one of the most powerful international organizations for global governance.

India’s leadership position among growing and developing countries, sometimes referred to as the Global South, has been vigorously promoted by Modi.

For the purpose of obtaining crucial financial assistance, he has argued for more cooperation with wealthy nations.

Modi has already expressed his desire to get the African Union into the alliance.

Modi stated in an interview conducted prior to the summit that “we truly mean it when we say we see the world as a family.”

Even at the G20, Africa is a primary priority for us. Our organization of the Voice of the Global South meeting, which saw tremendous participation from Africa, was one of the first things we accomplished during our G20 Presidency.

The G20 Members

The G20, which consists of 19 nations, includes the most significant and important economies in the world, accounting for two-thirds of global population, 75% of global commerce, and 85% of worldwide GDP.

The US, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Britain, Canada, China, the European Union, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, and Turkey are members.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button